Should we try ARM, honey? Theory, applications and workloads

Day 1 /  / Track 3  /  RU

You might not know that, but revolution is happening right now, and it seems that the hegemon will have to share his domain. Can you imagine that the best CPU for your server application isn't x86 anymore?

You might ask: "Is this even legal? And what Java has to do with it?" ARM processors were typically used for embedded systems. But now several CPU makers at once challenge Intel in the cloud and HPC hardware segment, and Java and the whole ecosystem run on their ARM cars. Server CPUs with ARM64 architecture mean loads of quick memory, dozens of quick cores, hundreds of wires and ginormous clusters. You naturally want to ask:

  • is this really working, and why is it working so fast?
  • when does it work really good, and what can we optimize to use ARM servers more efficiently?

In this talk, you'll learn about evolution of the Java ecosystem on ARM, features of the ARM port OpenJDK and performance of some workloads. We will tell how in two years AARCH64 became a real gem. And Java 12 and the new hardware are just around the corner.


Download presentation
Alexander Belokrylov
Alexander Belokrylov
BellSoft

Works in IT for more than 15 years, having gone from an engineer to a manager. At Oracle Alexander led the Java ME Embedded development and later one of the Oracle IoT Cloud Service components development. In 2017 together with like-minded fellows he founded BellSoft company which releases and supports OpenJDK binary distribution for variety of platforms called Liberica JDK and makes Big Data and IoT solutions.

Has previously spoken on JPoint, Joker, JavaOne, JEEConf and many other events.

Aleksei Voitylov
Aleksei Voitylov
BellSoft

Aleksei is the CTO of BellSoft where he drives innovation for the company customers, including optimizing OpenJDK. Prior to co-founding BellSoft, he ran teams at Oracle and Sun Microsystems and, in particular, helped deliver multiple components of the JDK 8 and 9 releases, including the HotSpot JVM and the Java Language. In 2017 together with like-minded fellows he founded BellSoft company which releases and supports OpenJDK binary distribution for variety of platforms called Liberica JDK and makes Big Data and IoT solutions. Aleksei holds a Ph.D. from St. Petersburg State University.

Дорогая, попробуем ARM? Теория, приложения и рабочие нагрузки

День 1 /  / Зал 3  /  RU /

Возможно, вы не знаете, но прямо сейчас происходит революция, и, похоже, гегемону придется поделиться своей властью. Можете ли вы предположить, что лучший CPU для вашего серверного приложения уже не x86?

«Это вообще законно? И при чём тут Java?» — спросите вы. Процессоры ARM традиционно использовались для встроенных систем. А теперь сразу несколько производителей CPU бросают вызов Intel в сегменте железа для облаков и HPC. И на их ARM-тачках работает Java, a также всё, что есть в экосистеме. Серверные процессоры с архитектурой ARM64 — это горы быстрой памяти, десятки быстрых ядер, сотни нитей и здоровенные кластеры. Закономерно встаёт ряд вопросов:

  • а действительно ли оно работает, и почему так быстро?
  • когда же это работает действительно хорошо, и что можно оптимизировать для более эффективного использования ARM-серверов?

Из этого доклада вы узнаете о том, как эволюционировала экосистема Java на ARM, а также о фичах ARM-порта OpenJDK и о производительности некоторых рабочих нагрузок. Мы расскажем, как из порта AARCH64 за два года стала вырисовываться конфетка. А на подходе уже новое железо и Java 12.


Скачать презентацию
Александр Белокрылов
Александр Белокрылов
BellSoft

Работает в индустрии IT более 15 лет, прошел путь от инженера до руководителя. В компании Oracle руководил развитием продукта Java ME Embedded, а позднее одного из компонентов Oracle IoT Cloud Service. В 2017 с группой единомышленников основал компанию BellSoft, которая выпускает и поддерживает собственный Java-дистрибутив Liberica JDK для Linux x86, Linux ARM, Windows, Mac и других, а также разрабатывает решения для анализа больших данных и IoT.

Неоднократный участник конференций JPoint, Joker, JavaOne, JEEConf и многих других.

Алексей Войтылов
Алексей Войтылов
BellSoft

В качестве технического директора BellSoft Алексей отвечает за выпуск Liberica JDK и помогает клиентам компании получать максимум от информационных технологий, включая оптимизацию OpenJDK. До начала работы в BellSoft Алексей руководил Java-командами в Oracle и Sun Microsystems и участвовал в выпуске множества компонентов JDK 8 и 9, таких как HotSpot JVM и Java Language. В 2017 с группой единомышленников он основал компанию BellSoft, которая выпускает и поддерживает собственный Java-дистрибутив Liberica JDK для Linux x86, Linux ARM, Windows, Mac и других, а также разрабатывает решения для анализа больших данных и IoT. Алексей получил ученую степень кандидата физико-математических наук в Санкт-Петербургском государственном университете.