Jlink and Custom Runtime Image — Frankenstein's workshop

Day 1 /  / Track 3  /  RU

Self-contained systems is an architectural approach, focusing on separation of concerns of independent subsystems to create fully-functional system, based on cooperation of many small applications. For this approach, it is essential for solution to be independent from the other applications.

Solutions capable of making your projects independent from JRE on your users' computers have long since existed in the Java world. But tool capable of doing it without crutches and wheel-recreating has arrived only with Java 9.

We'll talk about Custom Runtime Images, one of the most important features of Java 9, and how to implement it now, when your dependencies are not ready for Java 9 yet.

In this session we'll demonstrate via examples new possibilities of Java 9 for self-contained systems, approach to migration of the applications and how this technology could be implemented for developing command-line tools and deploying of applications in containers.


Download presentation
Yuri Artamonov
CUBA.platform

For the last couple of years Yuri is one of the key developers of the open source framework CUBA.platform, actively participates in the platform architecture development and specializes in frontend technologies. Teaches a university course of application development for mobile devices in Samara.

Jlink и Custom Runtime Image — мастерская Франкенштейна

День 2 /  / Зал 2  /  RU /

Self-contained системы — это архитектурный подход, фокусирующийся на разделении функциональности независимых подсистем, с тем чтобы создать полнофункциональную систему на базе сотрудничества множества небольших приложений. В этом подходе особое значение имеет независимость решения от других приложений.

В мире Java довольно давно существуют решения, позволяющие сделать ваш проект независимым от JRE на компьютерах ваших пользователей, но только с приходом Java 9 появился инструментарий, который делает это без костылей и велосипедов.

Поговорим об одной из самых важных возможностей Java 9 — Custom Runtime Images и о том, как применять её на практике сейчас, когда ваши зависимости все еще не готовы к Java 9.

В этом докладе на практических примерах будут продемонстрированы новые возможности Java 9 для self-contained систем, подход к миграции приложений и реальное применение этой технологии для разработки консольных утилит и развертывания приложений в контейнерах.


Юрий Артамонов
CUBA.platform

Последние несколько лет Юрий является одним из ключевых разработчиков опенсорс-фреймворка CUBA.platform, активно участвует в разработке архитектуры платформы и специализируется на фронтенд-технологиях. Преподаёт в магистратуре Самарского университета курс разработки приложений для мобильных устройств.