DevOps for (or versus?!) developers

Day 1 /  / Track 1  /  RU

DevOps is the sysadmins' crafty plan to make developers do other people's work, but we're too smart to fall for this simple rebranding trick!

Just think about it: we've written code. It passes the tests. It obviously works, so we can now go and drink/stroll around/play with our kids (underline as appropriate). And then these "visionaries" come (all from the "operations", mind you!) and tell us that it isn't going to work, that we now have to learn Kubernetes and Terraform because suddenly it is our concern?!

In this talk, we'll discuss why developers need (or need not) DevOps. We'll consider arguments made by DevOps visionaries and see whether they are valid. Hopefully, by the end of the talk we'll understand can it really help us developers to deploy better code to production more often, or is it just another scam made up by marketing specialists and evangelists.


Baruch Sadogursky
JFrog

Baruch Sadogursky (a.k.a. JBaruch) is the Head of Developer Relations and a Developer Advocate at JFrog. His passion is speaking about technology. Well, speaking in general, but doing it about technology makes him look smart, and 18 years of hi-tech experience sure helps. When he's not on stage (or on a plane to get there), he learns about technology, people and how they work, or more precisely, don't work together.

He is a co-author of the Liquid Software book, CNCF ambassador and a professional conference speaker on DevOps, DevSecOps, Go, Java and many other topics, and is a regular at the industry's most prestigious events including DockerCon, GopherCon, Devoxx, DevOps Days, OSCON, Qcon, JavaOne and many others. You can see some of his talks at jfrog.com/shownotes.

Contacts

Address:

DevOps для разработчиков (или против?!)

День 1 /  / Зал 1  /  RU /

DevOps — это заговор сисадминов, чтобы заставить разработчиков делать чужую работу, но мы слишком умны, чтобы попасться на эту элементарную уловку ребрендингом!

Нет, ну посудите сами. Мы написали код. Он проходит тесты. Он, очевидно, работает. Можно идти пить/гулять/играть с детьми (нужное подчеркнуть). И тут приходят эти «визионеры» (все из operations, прошу заметить!) и рассказывают нам, что нифига, нам теперь надо учить Кубернетес с Терраформом, потому что внезапно это наша головная боль?!

В этом докладе мы поговорим о том, зачем разработчикам нужен (или не нужен) DevOps. Мы рассмотрим аргументы, которые приводят идеологи DevOps, и решим, состоятельны они или нет. К концу доклада, будем надеяться, нам станет понятно, действительно ли это способ, который поможет нам (разработчикам) поставлять лучший код в прод чаще, или это, как всегда, разводка маркетологов и евангелистов.


Барух Садогурский
JFrog

Барух Садогурский (a.k.a. JBaruch) — Head of Developer Relations и Developer Advocate в компании JFrog. Больше всего любит рассказывать о технологиях — то есть просто поболтать любит, но человек, говорящий о технологиях, имеет умный вид, да и 18 лет опыта в сфере высоких технологий никуда не делись. Когда он не выступает (ну, или не летит к месту следующего выступления), то изучает технологии, людей и то, как они работают, точнее, не работают вместе.

Барух — соавтор книги «Liquid Software», CNCF ambassador и профессиональный спикер по таким темам, как DevOps, DevSecOps, Go, Java и др. Он регулярно выступает на таких известных конференциях, как Joker, JPoint, DevOops, Heisenbug, DockerCon, GopherCon, Devoxx, DevOps Days, OSCON, Qcon, JavaOne и др. Некоторые его доклады можно посмотреть здесь.

Контакты

Адрес: