War Story: How we were implementing Java support in Jenkins

Day 2 /  / Track 3  /  RU

This is the story about how we were implementing Java support in Jenkins — one of the most popular automation servers for CI/CD. This talk's purpose is to show what problems we encountered in big real-life Maven project and how we solved them. This talk doesn't concern Jenkins in and of itself, rather it's aimed at developers planning to switch to Java 11.

How did we manage to support Java 11 and keep compatibility with Java 8? How did we enable project building and testing in Java 9..11? How were we influenced by the new module system, multi-release JARs, and incompatible changes in Java (reflection, classloading, deleting of Java EE/Jakarta components)? How you should automate your testing process to not remake it entirely with every new Java release? And what did we get at the end of the day by switching to Java 11?

NB: Jenkins has a very big code base: Java, Groovy, native libraries, even a bit of Kotlin. The project includes hundreds of dependencies, 1500+ plugins, and dozens of standard and custom developer tools (Maven, Gradle). Add to this 10 years of backward compatibility and an enormous amount of legacy code. If you noticed some resemblance to your own Java projects and thinking about switching to Java 11, come and listen to the talk :)


Oleg Nenashev
CloudBees

Engineer at CloudBees, core team member in the Jenkins project. Since 2008 works in the areas of automation, infrastructures, and frameworks for mixed software-hardware projects, with the help of Jenkins and dozens of other tools. Oleg writes code, maintains Jenkins core and plugins, and organizes meetups and other community events.

War Story: Как мы внедряли поддержку Java 11 в Jenkins

День 2 /  / Зал 3  /  RU /

Сказ о том, как мы внедряли поддержку Java 11 в Jenkins — одном из наиболее популярных серверов автоматизации для CI/CD. Цель доклада — рассказать о том, с какими проблемами мы столкнулись в реальном крупном Maven-проекте, и о том, как мы их решали. Доклад не имеет отношения к Jenkins как таковому, целевая аудитория — разработчики, которые планируют переезд на Java 11.

Как нам удалось поддержать Java 11 и сохранить совместимость с Java 8? Как мы обеспечили сборку и тестирование проектов в Java 9..11? Насколько на нас повлияли новая система модулей, multi-release JARs и несовместимые изменения в Java (reflection, classloading, удаление компонентов Java EE/Jakarta)? И как автоматизировать тестирование, чтобы не переделывать всё с каждым новым релизом Java? И что мы, в конце концов, получили от миграции на Java 11?

Справка: Jenkins имеет огромную кодовую базу: Java, Groovy, нативные библиотеки и даже немного Kotlin. Проект включает сотни зависимостей, 1500+ плагинов, а также десятки стандартных и самописных dev-тулов (Maven, Gradle). Впридачу — 10 лет обратной совместимости и огромное количество легаси-кода. Если вы заметили сходство со своими Java-проектами и думаете о миграции на Java 11, то приходите на доклад :)

Комментарий программного комитета:

Опыт миграции на Java 11 огромного проекта с кучей legacy, которым пользуется половина интернета.


Скачать презентацию
Олег Ненашев
CloudBees

Разработчик в CloudBees, состоит в core team проекта Jenkins. C 2008 года занимается автоматизацией, инфраструктурой и фреймворкостроением для крупных программно-аппаратных проектов с помощью Jenkins и десятков других тулов. Пишет код, поддерживает ядро и плагины Jenkins, организует митапы в СПб и других городах.