Docker Who: Small containers through time and space

Day 4 /  / Track 3  /  RU

Have you recently moved to microservices? Your team is deploying the code much faster, but data transfer costs are going up as well, aren't they? That's because the size of containers matters the most, and keeping them lightweight means saving on bandwidth usage.

BellSoft's engineers have come up with a solution, which is full-fledged Alpine Linux support in OpenJDK. By that, they have also invented a real-life TARDIS: containers that take only a few MB of storage but carry enormous potential. When JDK 16 is released, the Portola Project will integrate into the OpenJDK mainline within JEP 386. Duct-taping with a glibc layer will become a thing of the past, as all the processes will connect flawlessly. Your company will get to use tiny container images independently of the distribution kit vendor. They have been available for a long time, but the official HotSpot port status for the musl library will expand the scope and simplify related development.

Dmitry's talk is going to touch upon the benefits that Alpine Linux is bringing to the OpenJDK community. It will also explain how to optimize Docker images for free by changing just one or two lines of code. Lastly, the speaker will offer a tool for choosing an optimal container that will suit your project perfectly.


Speakers

Dmitry Chuyko
BellSoft

Dmitry Chuyko is a performance engineer at BellSoft, one of the most active corporate OpenJDK developers. Before joining BellSoft, Dmitry worked on HotSpot JVM in Oracle. His previous experience with Java showed that the most interesting problems in applications find their solutions in the underlying platform. Dmitry is currently mainly optimizing OpenJDK for x86 and ARM, and also contributing to the development of JEP 386 to make the smallest Java containers even better. Dmitry speaks at large conferences such as Joker, JPoint, Oracle Code One, Devoxx, or GeeCON, as well as at JUG meetups in different countries.

Invited Experts

Sergey Dzeboev
Alfa Bank

Lead Java developer at Alfa-Bank with 10 years of experience in IT. An expert in reactive programming. Believes that every framework has its own place. Always loves to learn something new. Receives a second degree from the University of the People.

Docker Who: Маленькие контейнеры сквозь время и пространство

День 4 /  / Зал 3  /  RU /

Ваш проект недавно перешел на микросервисную архитектуру? Деплоймент значительно ускорился, но и затраты от передачи данных выросли? Размер самих контейнеров здесь важнее всего. Уменьшить их — значит сильно сэкономить на трафике.

Инженеры BellSoft разработали решение полной поддержки Alpine Linux в OpenJDK. А вместе с этим и настоящий ТАРДИС: контейнеры, которые занимают на диске несколько мегабайт, но внутри несут огромный потенциал. С выходом JDK 16, в рамках JEP 386 проект Portola интегрируется в основную ветку OpenJDK. Необходимость в «костыльном» слое glibc отпадет, все процессы встанут на свои места. Ваша компания сможет пользоваться крошечными образами контейнеров вне зависимости от поставщика дистрибутива. Они доступны уже давно, но официальный статус порта HotSpot для библиотеки musl расширит область его применения и упростит разработки.

В своем докладе Дмитрий расскажет, какие преимущества принесет поддержка Alpine Linux сообществу OpenJDK и объяснит, как бесплатно оптимизировать Docker-образы, поменяв всего пару строк кода. А в конце предложит инструмент для выбора оптимального контейнера под нужды вашего проекта.


Почему этот доклад в программе

Чем хорош спикер: Рассказ про Project Portola / JEP 386 из первых рук.

Чем хороша тема: Контейнеры все больше и больше проникают в нашу жизнь и продакшен. И вопросы их легковесности все важнее.

Кому будет полезно: Хотите сделать ваши контейнеры с Java еще легковеснее? У вас есть требования/пожелания к размеру образа контейнера? Тогда вам сюда.

Почему здесь и сейчас: Узнаем из первых рук какие проблемы были в рамках работы над Project Portola/JEP 386, т.е. какой ценой дается дается переносимость JVM.

Спикер(ы)

Дмитрий Чуйко
BellSoft

Дмитрий Чуйко работает инженером по производительности в российской компании BellSoft, одном из ведущих участников сообщества OpenJDK. До того, как присоединиться к BellSoft, Дмитрий уже работал над HotSpot JVM в компании Oracle. Его предыдущий опыт разработки на Java показал, что наиболее интересные проблемы приложений решаются на уровне базовой платформы. В настоящее время Дмитрий занимается оптимизациями OpenJDK для архитектур x86 и ARM, а также участвует в разработке JEP 386, чтобы самые маленькие Java-контейнеры были ещё лучше. Дмитрий регулярно выступает как на крупных конференциях, таких как Joker, JPoint, Oracle Code One, Devoxx, и GeeCON, так и на встречах разработчиков в разных странах.