gRPC client-side load balancing — why, what, how and WTF?

 /  RU

We'll talk about the popular technology for organizing interaction — gRPC. Let's talk about its main features and how to use them, focusing on the issue of load balancing. Usually, additional components are used for this task - nginx, envoy, istio, etc., but in some cases adding additional elements to the system is undesirable. Moreover, the Java implementation of gRPC is capable of many things on its own, but getting it to work is not so easy...

To figure out how to activate the required functionality, open manuals are lacking. To find out the truth, we will delve deeper into the Java code of GRPC, figure out how it was conceived by the authors, and try to figure out how to live with it further.


Speakers

Dmitry Bugaychenko
Dmitry Bugaychenko
Sber

Graduated from St. Petersburg State University in 2004, got a PhD degree in the field of the formal logical methods in 2007. Spent almost 9 years in outsourcing without losing contact with the university and research community. Big data analysis at Odnoklassniki became for Dmitry an unique chance to combine theoretical knowledge and scientific foundation with the development of real and popular products. And this chance he gladly took advantage of by coming there in 2011. Joined Sberbank team in 2019.

gRPC client-side load balancing — зачем, что, как и WTF?

 /  RU /

В этот раз мы поговорим о популярной технологии организации взаимодействия — gRPC. Дмитрий расскажет об основных её особенностях и способах использования, уделив основное внимание вопросу балансировки нагрузки. Обычно для этой задачи используют дополнительные компоненты — nginx, envoy, istio и т.д., но в некоторых случаях добавление дополнительных элементов в систему нежелательно. Тем более, что Java-реализация gRPC способна на многое и сама, но заставить её работать не так просто...

Чтобы разобраться, как активировать нужный функционал, открытых мануалов катастрофически не хватает. Для выяснения истины мы с вами залезем поглубже в Java-код GRPC, разберемся в том, как оно задумывалось авторами и попробуем понять, как с этим жить дальше.


Спикер(ы)

Дмитрий Бугайченко
Дмитрий Бугайченко
Сбер

Окончил Санкт-Петербургский государственный университет в 2004 году, там же защитил кандидатскую по формально-логическим методам в 2007. Почти 9 лет проработал в аутсорсинге, не теряя контакта с университетом и научной средой. Анализ больших данных в Одноклассниках стал для Дмитрия уникальным шансом совместить теоретическую подготовку и научный фундамент с разработкой реальных, востребованных продуктов. И этим шансом он с радостью воспользовался, придя туда пять лет назад. С 2019-го года присоединился к дружной команде Сбербанка.